South Central Free Travel Guides

South Central Region comprises Oklahoma, Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana. The climate varies from the semi-tropical Mississippi Delta in South Louisiana to the dry Chihuahuan desert in West Texas and southern New Mexico. The southeastern portions include the Piney Woods of East Texas, Louisiana, and southern Arkansas and the Mississippi Delta. Large portion of the northeastern quarter of the region is mountainous, with the Ozark and Ouachita Mountains of Arkansas and eastern Oklahoma. The northwest quarter of the region is dominated by the Great Plains which becomes progressively drier west of 100° W, forming the North American Llano. The southwestern portions border the Rio Grande, and is generally drier that other areas of the South Central United States, Central Texas having the most annual precipitation. The South Central Region, although comprised of only four states, is jam-packed with activities vacationers enjoy. The diverse ethnic groups have formed a culture that loves to celebrate their heritage with plenty of food, festivals and celebrations that you won’t want to miss.